6 Months, 6 Updates

Half a year of being an American citizen. It also happened to be the wettest 6 months California has had (The rainy season now ranks 2nd all time in 122 years of records) maybe it was a weird way of the world making it easier for us to ease ourselves into living here! Anyways, here are 6 small updates since I last wrote on here at Easter.

No particular order

1. More furniture
For the longest time we had our TV on a huge cardboard box that the table came in. It served its time well but was showing signs of dipping and knew with having guests coming to stay it was time to finally get a proper table. Well, we kind of cheated as it’s actually a book case turned on its side from Ikea but it fits our living space well and it seems to be ok when it comes to being baby proof. We also got this amazing teepee from Toys R Us  to hide all of Summers toys, she loves it and it’s like her own little space that she can rule. IMG_4419

2.Driving
Those who know me well know I have a proper fear of the roads. This stems from being hit by a car when I was 16 which prevented me ever having the need to pass my driving test. But I did at the ripe old age of 27 and actually did it in London! If you’ve ever driven in London you know how crazy the roads are and alas, this meant I was never really one to want to hop behind the drivers seat and go for a ride. So I became dependent on public transport (which is so good in London) and Mark driving us around. But LA is a driving ball game. It’s not as practical to rely on public transport and literally you have streets where there are just no pedestrian walkways. So I have to bite the bullet and just do it. Apart from the fact that you’re on the right side of the road which makes me automatically want to be driving too far right, and the fact that you can actually turn right on corners on a RED traffic light (whaaat) its starting to feel more “normal”. To make it easier the car we ended up getting is automatic one less thing to worry about with clutch control and I can’t just roll backward when on a hill.( That one had made its way into my subconsciousness and become a reoccurring nightmare for me)

So now I just need to battle freeways and I’m on my way. One piece of advice I got for freeways was it’s exactly the same as driving on the normal roads except you’re going really, really fast! See, should have nothing to worry about! Eek

3. Summer can now walk
When did this baby grow up so fast? eyes needed all over my head now – this girl is walking/stumbling/falling/running/dancing her way around and its amazing to watch. I tried to capture some of her expressions and poses through drawing

IMG_0128 2

13 Reasons Why

At the time of writing this we have NOT finished the series. This alone is a little problem as it’s literally all I can think about. I’m one of those people who doesn’t realise how much to affects my brains and thoughts and moods and especially my dreams. I mean, I had a dream the other night that I had died and come back invisible and that was after watching Petes Dragon! So when it comes to TV series I need to pace it out, for the sake of my heart. But this series is different. I just wanted to keep watching and watching, we even did 4 episodes in a row!
There’s something very compelling and haunting about it. Maybe the fact it’s kind of relatable as we all went to high school and know people like the characters, or maybe it’s the topics they’re covering in the series. It’s probably a mix of good story telling and right casting and actors that makes it so addictive, but I also kind of want to get to the end so I can carry on with life. I do know though that hopefully it will make people think more before judging and consider their consequences of their actions a bit more. On another note, I really do miss listening to my walkman. Anyone else want to have the yellow one like in Fern Gully? I bet my Michael Jackson tape would have sounded even better on that if I owned it.
Any of you guys watched it? what do you think?

5. My book came out in Spanish
Some of you might know or even own my first book I illustrated called Mr Mustachio! It was such a great project to work on and loved all the media hype behind it too. So when the other day I had a quick look at my Twitter I was thrilled and surprised to see I had been in tagged with this picture from the publishers of the book now out in Spanish!
Everyone say “hola Don Mostachio!”

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 19.54.26

6. New Book deal
And this leads onto my new book deal! I am currently working on a really fun project which I can’t say too much about but it does involve Noah’s Ark and potties…lots of them. I can’t wait to share more of it all with you guys soon!

How has your last 6 months been? let me know i’d love to hear!
Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

