Christmas Day

 

Christmas Day

The big day had arrived! and Summer gave us a small Christmas gift by sleeping until 7am…7am!! Thank you!

Having a first Christmas is one of those moments where you want it to be memorable and “perfect” for them. In reality though, Summer is only 9 months old and is she really going to remember this? I better record all of it though in case she ever wants to see it! So I rush downstairs and turn on all the sparkly lights before Mark and Summer make their entrance to see what Santa has left them as I wait grinning with my camera in hand. All week I had spent my time shielding off the poor Christmas tree whilst Summer attacked it with her sticky hands and tried to hang off it using the baubles as grips to hold herself up. Then there’s the wrapping paper battles, countless times I would find her with glitter round her mouth where she’s had a nibble.

So on 25th December I thought I would let her go crazy and had all her gifts laid out for her. And low and behold she was just not interested in them! We spent the next couple of hours giving her gifts trying to get her to look at each one separately, but really all she wanted to do was to play with the first one we gave her. In my head I thought she was gonna go crazy with all the wrapping paper and presents but in reality I think it was all a bit overwhelming for her! She did love all the gifts, especially her new walker – personally I think she looks a bit like an old lady trying to walk with a zimmer frame but I think she’s loving her new found freedom.

img_0820
Olaf loves Summer, Christmas mayhem

Next was a lot of Skype calls to U.K. To family and friends and was great to see their faces but then suddenly it was time to put the ham in the oven! And boy did that ham come out well! Thanks Mum for the recipe!

img_0815
The Tompkins clan after their Christmas Dinner

3pm and we went to Leandre and Carolines house, here’s a list of what we brought

The ham

Victoria sponge cake

Mulled Wine ingredients

4 x games

Summers new Zimmer frame walker

Presents

Wine

Summers pyjamas and blanket

a lot of snacks

They only live around the corner, but it was a struggle to get it all there, and of course we forgot things so Mark had to run back.

We spent the rest of the afternoon evening eating (a mix of English, Filipino, French and Russian food), playing games (who knew there was a game called Love Letter: Batman!) oh and of course there was Home Alone on in the background – I forget every year how great that film is, we got so into it that we ended up watching Home Alone 2 straight after! 

Although I missed my family and it felt strange not being in UK I had a great day and know i’ll remember this one for a long time.

Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

